During its concert on Friday May 18 at 7:30 pm at the Montreal Conservatory of Music, the Molinari Quartet announced the winners of its Seventh International Composition Competition for String Quartet. The winners were chosen from 108 candidates aged under 40 and the jury – composed of the members of the Molinari Quartet and composers Brian Cherney and Maxime McKinley – met in May to evaluate the 109 original scores received from 26 countries.

For its Seventh edition, the Molinari Quartet has selected four works. The order of the winners will be determined following the concert on February 1st, 2019 by the jury, after a final deliberation. Here are the four candidates, in alphabetical order, whose works will be played in concert:

 Preston Beebe (born in 1988) from the United States for his work  Beneath Trees

Bertrand Chavarría-Aldrete, (born in 1978) from Mexico for his work Douleur exquise

Jongsung Oh (born in 1987) from South Korea for his work HAYDN pour quatuor à cordes

Menelaos Peistikos (born in 1995) from Greece for his work For Sun’s Light

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.