Quatuor Molinari
 
Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari
Welcome to the website of Molinari Quartet
 
Competition

First edition 2001-2002

Prizewinners of the Molinari Quartet's First International Composition Competition

On Friday, May 31, 2002, at 8 pm, at McGill University's Redpath Hall, the Molinari Quartet announced the names of the prizewinners of its First International Composition Contest for String Quartet. The winners were selected from 222 entries submitted from applicants aged less than 40. The jury, comprising members of the Molinari Quartet and composers Denis Gougeon, R. Murray Schafer and Gilles Tremblay, convened in May to evaluate the 222 original scores received from 39 different countries. -

First Prize / $3 000 grant with a serigraphy by Canadian artist Guido Molinari

Vsevolod Chmoulevitch (Russia, 1970), for his work "Romantic" String Quartet

- Vsevolod Chmoulevitch studied composition and conducting at the Saint Petersburg Conservatory. He has won five international competitions, including the Concours H. Dutilleux in 1999. Several orchestras and ensembles have commissioned works of his which are performed in a number of national and international festivals. -

Second prize / $2 000 grant

Morritz Eggert (Germany, 1965), for his work Kleine Fluchten (Little Hideaways)

- Morritz Eggert studied piano and composition and has been awarded several prizes, notably The Salzburger Osterfestspiele Schneider/Scott and Ad Referendum from the SMCQ. In 1991, he established the Devantgarde Festival for New Music with Sandeep Bhagwati. His catalogue comprises six operas, works for solo piano and music for the stage, including ballets, theatre and dance. In 1997, the German television made a documentary film on his work as a composer. -

Third prize / bourse de $1000 grant

Wolf Edwards (Canada, 1972), for his work Island

- Alexios Porfyriadis was born in Greece in 1971. He studied at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Graz, Austria, in the class of Gerd Kühr and received in 2002 a Diploma in composition with distinction. He pursued his studies with Beat Furrer Erich Urbanner (Kunstuniversität Wien), Emmanuel Nunes (Conservatoire National de Paris), Mathias Spahlinger (Musikhochschule Freiburg) and York Höller (Musikhochschule Köln). Mr Porfyriadis has recieved many scholatships including a State Scholarship for Composition of the Republic of Austria, a Music Award of the city of Graz, Austria, and a scholarship from the Carl Michael Ziehrer Trust. His works have been performed in Austria, Greece, Croatia and Poland. -

Honourable mention

Alberto Colla (Italy, 1968), for his work In memoria di Sergej Prokofiev

- Alberto Colla has earned diplomas in composition, piano and choral conducting. Nine international prizes have been awarded to him, such as the Concorso Internationale G. Verdi per la Composizione di un opera lirica (Parma, 2001), The Dimitris Mitropoulos International Competition for Composing (Athens, 1999) and The Third International Memorial Competition for composers (Oslo, 1998). His works are performed by prestigious ensembles in several national and international festivals, as well as on the radio and television. Luciano Berio has commissioned a new work - for choir and symphony orchestra - from Mr. Colla, for the inauguration of a new hall in Rome in 2002. -

The four prizewinners have been invited to rehearse with the Molinari Quartet prior to the Concert des lauréats which was held on November 15, 2002, and participate in the series Dialogues à la Chapelle, consisting in public workshops for discussion and performance initiated by the Molinari Quartet.

In addition, the four winning works have been recorded on a compact disc for the ATMA Classique label.

Quatuor Molinari
 
Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari
Le Quatuor Molinari vous souhaite la bienvenue
 
Concours

Première édition 2003-2004

Les lauréats du Premier Concours international de composition du Quatuor Molinari

C'est au cours de son concert du vendredi 31 mai 2002 à 20 h à la salle Redpath de l'université McGill que le Quatuor Molinari a dévoilé le nom des lauréats de son Premier Concours international de composition pour quatuor à cordes. Les lauréats ont été choisis parmi 222 candidats âgés de moins de 40 ans et le jury - composé des membres du Quatuor Molinari et des compositeurs Denis Gougeon, R. Murray Schafer et Gilles Tremblay - s'était réuni en mai pour examiner 222 partitions inédites issues de 39 pays. -

1er prix / bourse de 3 000 $ accompagnée d'une sérigraphie de l'artiste canadien Guido Molinari

Vsevolod Chmoulevitch (Russie 1970), pour son œuvre Quatuor à cordes « Romantique »

- Vsevolod Chmoulevitch a étudié la composition et la direction d'orchestre au Conservatoire de Saint-Pétersbourg. Il a remporté cinq concours internationaux, dont le Concours H. Dutilleux en 1999. Il a reçu de nombreuses commandes d'orchestres et d'ensembles et ses œuvres sont jouées dans plusieurs festivals nationaux et internationaux. -

2e prix / bourse de 2 000 $

Morritz Eggert (Allemagne 1965), pour son œuvre Kleine Fluchten (Little Hideaways)

- Morritz Eggert a étudié le piano et la composition et a remporté plusieurs prix, dont The Salzburger Osterfestspiele Schneider/Scott et celui Ad Referendum de la SMCQ. Il fonde avec Sandeep Bhagwati en 1991 The Devantgarde Festival for New Music. Son répertoire comprend six opéras, des œuvres pour piano solo, des œuvres pour la scène comprenant ballets, théâtre et danse. En 1997, la télévision allemande a réalisé un film documentaire sur son travail de composition. -

3e prix / bourse de 500 $

Wolf Edwards (Canada 1972), pour son œuvre Island

- Wolf Edwards a obtenu un baccalauréat avec distinction en composition de l'Université de Victoria (C.B.) et a reçu plusieurs prix d'excellence, dont le premier prix au Strings of the Future International Festival et le prix Murray Adaskin en composition. Il a participé au festival international de musique contemporaine Musica Nova en Bulgarie, où il se rendra à l'été 2002 pour la première mondiale de ses deuxième et troisième quatuors à cordes. -

Mention d'honneur

Alberto Colla (Italie 1968), pour son œuvre In memoria di Sergej Prokofiev

- Alberto Colla a obtenu des diplômes en composition, piano, musique et direction de chœur. Il s'est mérité neuf premiers prix internationaux, dont le Concorso Internationale G. Verdi per la Composizione di un opera lirica (Parme, 2001), The Dimitris Mitropoulos International Competition for Composing (Athènes, 1999) et The Third International Memorial Competition for composers (Oslo, 1998). Ses œuvres sont jouées dans de nombreux festivals nationaux et internationaux, à la radio et à la télévision par des ensembles prestigieux. Il a reçu une commande d'œuvre - pour chœur et orchestre symphonique - de Luciano Berio pour l'inauguration du nouvel auditorium de Rome en 2002. -

Les quatre lauréats ont été invités à travailler avec le Quatuor Molinari avant la tenue du Concert des lauréats qui a eu lieu le 15 novembre 2002 et à participer aux Dialogues à la Chapelle, ateliers publics de discussion, d'échanges et de performance conçus par le Quatuor Molinari.

De plus, les quatre œuvres primées ont été gravées sur disque compact sous étiquette ATMA Classique.