Quatuor Molinari
Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari Quatuor Molinari
Welcome to the website of Molinari Quartet
Cho, Eun-Hwa

Cho, Eun-Hwa (1973-)

Eun-Hwa Cho was born in Pusan (South Korea). She worked with Prof. Cheong-Iek Chang at the College of Music, in the Department of Composition at the Seoul National University. After receiving her Master's degree, she moved to Berlin where she has been studying with Prof. Hanspeter Kyburz since 2000. Her compositions have been performed in several festivals such as the Pan Music Festival, Pusan Contemporary Music Festival, Asian Composer League, Ultraschall, Internationale Ferienkurse für Neue Musik in Darmstadt, etc. She won many awards with her compositions, such as First Prize at the Hanns-Eisler Preis fur Komposition und Interpretation zeitgenössischer Musik (2002), First Prize at the Junge Musiker Preis (2002), the First Prize at the fourth Weimarer Fruehjahrstage Kompositions wettbewerb (2003), as well as the Second Prize at the Molinari Quartet's Second International Composition Competition.

Quartet n° 2 (2004)

The piece is a study of form. It comprises two parts interlocking each other. In the first part of the piece, several elements are always combined in a new variation. In the second part, the particular harmonic process is the central point. Both parts underline the harmony, which is developed from a given interval-progression. The interval-progression, which consists of sixteen intervals, is the unit of each small section. The whole interval-progression appears clearly on the introduction part as the principal voice. All the principal voices are either longer or louder notes than the secondary voices. After the introduction, the main section of the first part follows. The diverse combinations of the varied elements over the harmony, made with the interval-progression, play the central role in the first part. The second part begins on the middle of the first part. In this part, the interval-progression, which is played in the introduction, comes abstractly on the common notes. These notes are emphasized through scordatura and the chords are then formed with the four scordatura notes at the end of the second part. Thus, the tone color difference marks the difference between the first part and the second part. The second part has two definite processes. At first, according to the development of the second part, four string instruments are tuned gradually as follows: Violin 1 : d to d-flat / Violin 2 : g to f, d to c / Viola : g to g-flat, c to c-flat (b) / Cello : a to a-flat, c to b-flat. Therefore the tone color has been changed from the first part. The other process is the changing of the tone range. The harmonic process happens in lower range to higher range. At the very end, the chords are made only of harmonics-tones. -

Eun-Hwa Cho



Alphabetical List